When you are charged with driving under the influence, or DUI, in the state of Washington you may face a number of different consequences that affect the quality of your life. For this reason, it’s important to have a skilled Washington DUI attorney in your corner to ensure that you have the best possible chance of avoiding a conviction or reducing your sentence.
About DUI Offenses in Washington
In the state of Washington, you will be charged with a DUI offense if authorities believe you have been operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. Washington defines “under the influence” as a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or higher for adults or 0.02 or higher for minors. You may also be charged with a DUI offense if your behavior demonstrates evidence of the influence of drugs or alcohol, regardless of your BAC.
Penalties for a misdemeanor DUI charge in Washington may include:
- Drivers license suspension or revocation
- Electric home monitoring for up to 150 days
- Up to 364 days in jail (Felony DUIs may carry lengthier prison sentences)
- A fine of up to $5,000
- Alcohol/drug education course
- Mandatory substance abuse treatment
- Court-ordered ignition interlock device
The severity of your sentence will depend on the specifics of your offense, as well as your criminal history. For example, if you have past DUI convictions, you will most likely incur a harsher sentence.